• 0
  • No Items available

S K Rana (એસ. કે. રાણા)


In recognition of his outstanding performance as a participant at the Summer Institute in English sponsored by the University Grants Commission in 1967, S.K. Rana was deputed by M.S. University of Baroda to do a course at Central Institute of English, Hyderabad. At the end of the course he was awarded Post Graduate Diploma in the Teaching of English. He also has an M.A. in English Language and Literature awarded to him by Gujarat University, Ahmedabad in the year 1961.

He has taught University and College teachers of English at three Summer Institutes. These Summer Institutes were sponsored by University Grants Commission and conducted by Department of English of M.S. University of Baroda in the years 1972, 1973 and 1977.

He has also taught English in programmes organized, among others, by All India Radio (broadcasts meant for secondary school teachers) and I.A.S. Training Centre of M.S. University of Baroda for its trainees.

All through his teaching career of thirty-two years at M.S. University of Baroda he has been deeply interested in English usage. For him—to use Samuel Johnson’s words—“the allurements of emendation are scarcely resistible.” He has written 140 articles on the correct use of English and these have been published in The Times of India and The Indian Express publications. These articles were widely and warmly praised by readers.
S.K. Rana has also published a few articles of a non-critical nature. Most noteworthy among these is an article published by SPAN magazine which is brought out by American Center, New Delhi. The title of this article is ‘American Girl in an Indian Home’ and it was published in SPAN magazine’s issue of January 1994. This article was subsequently published in a university-level textbook Indian Prose for Effective Communication (Macmillan).
Included in this textbook are writings of such luminaries as Dr. S. Radhakrishnan, Rabindranath Tagore, M.K. Gandhi, Nirad C. Chaudhuri, Jawaharlal Nehru, C. Rajagopalachari, R.K. Narayan, B.R. Ambedkar, Swami Vivekananda, Khushwant Singh, R.K. Srinivasa Iyengar and Sri Aurobindo.